<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<feed xmlns="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/">
  <title type="text">Conversation on The Sacramento Press about: Don't Send Money to the Business Filings Division</title>
  <link rel="alternate" href="http://www.sacramentopress.com/headline/14957" />
  <subtitle>If you run a business or work with a nonprofit group, you might have received a letter recently from the Business Filings Division, located at 980 9th St., 16th Floor in Sacramento. Although it says "Business Mail - Important Notice Enclosed", underneath that it also says "This is not a government document".


You wouldn't know that by looking at the form that is enclosed. It is an official looking form that looks suspiciously like a form from the California Secretary of State's office and dem...</subtitle>
  <dc:creator>anntracy</dc:creator>
  <entry>
    <title type="text">By: Leah</title>
    <link rel="alternate" href="http://www.sacramentopress.com/comment/25784/I_own_a_similar_company_to_Regus_and_have_had_clients_that_run_scams_but_when_I_realize_it_I_find_a" />
    <author>
      <name>Leah</name>
    </author>
    <id>comment-25784</id>
    <updated>2010-04-28T03:54:35Z</updated>
    <published>2010-04-28T03:54:35Z</published>
    <content type="text">I own a similar company to Regus and have had clients that run scams but when I realize it I find a way to move them out or turn them over to a regulatory agency.  Regus is more concerned with profits than integrity, though, and would never do that.</content>
    <dc:creator>Leah</dc:creator>
    <dc:date>2010-04-28T03:54:35Z</dc:date>
  </entry>
  <entry>
    <title type="text">By: hah</title>
    <link rel="alternate" href="http://www.sacramentopress.com/comment/18889/If_their_initials_were_not_BFD_Big_Fing_Deal_I_would_not_have_googled_them_today_A_concussion_had_m" />
    <author>
      <name>hah</name>
    </author>
    <id>comment-18889</id>
    <updated>2009-12-08T00:21:33Z</updated>
    <published>2009-12-08T00:21:33Z</published>
    <content type="text">If their initials were not BFD (Big F---ing Deal) I would not have googled them today. A concussion had me not responding to their letter dated Oct. 15 until now. Thank goodness for the internet and waking up to scams that are really BFD, Bad F--ing Deals! How stupid do these people think we are?</content>
    <dc:creator>hah</dc:creator>
    <dc:date>2009-12-08T00:21:33Z</dc:date>
  </entry>
  <entry>
    <title type="text">By: eabergel</title>
    <link rel="alternate" href="http://www.sacramentopress.com/comment/18000/OMG_I_was_going_to_send_the_fee_239_immediately_thanks_to_the_internet_I_saw_all_these_blogs_Why_ar" />
    <author>
      <name>eabergel</name>
    </author>
    <id>comment-18000</id>
    <updated>2009-11-19T20:44:40Z</updated>
    <published>2009-11-19T20:44:40Z</published>
    <content type="text">OMG I was going to send the fee  $239 immediately thanks to the internet  I saw all these blogs!
Why are they not tracking this company they are still taking calls for Gods sake! I called their
 916 - 903-5355
SCAM! SCAM! beware!</content>
    <dc:creator>eabergel</dc:creator>
    <dc:date>2009-11-19T20:44:40Z</dc:date>
  </entry>
  <entry>
    <title type="text">By: Elena</title>
    <link rel="alternate" href="http://www.sacramentopress.com/comment/16113/It_makes_me_mad_that_people_send_out_these_forms_to_NEW_BUSINESS_We_are_a_private_Oncolgy_Surgical_" />
    <author>
      <name>Elena</name>
    </author>
    <id>comment-16113</id>
    <updated>2009-10-22T22:08:37Z</updated>
    <published>2009-10-22T22:08:37Z</published>
    <content type="text">It makes me mad that people send out these forms to NEW BUSINESS. We are a private Oncolgy Surgical Office and just opened about 6 weeks ago. I am the office manager and my doctor wanted to make sure we paid all his bills on time. I'm so GLAD someone started this blog on these scams he has received 2 of them one for $195.00 Annual Filing Division Statement of Information Officers List 1215 K Streeet, 17th Floor Sacramento, CA 95814 and a disconnected phone number 916-779-4147.&#xD;
The other one is Business Filings Division Statement of Information Officers List $235.00 980 Ninth Street, 16th Floor Sacramento, CA 95814  On these letter it says Failure to comply cause penalties, fines and suspension.... This make me sick.. I sure there are a few who will pay thinking that these letter are from the state of CA.</content>
    <dc:creator>Elena</dc:creator>
    <dc:date>2009-10-22T22:08:37Z</dc:date>
  </entry>
  <entry>
    <title type="text">By: cbu</title>
    <link rel="alternate" href="http://www.sacramentopress.com/comment/15910/We_received_the_same_form_today_it_was_just_we_already_filed_with_the_Secretary_of_State_last_month" />
    <author>
      <name>cbu</name>
    </author>
    <id>comment-15910</id>
    <updated>2009-10-20T22:53:09Z</updated>
    <published>2009-10-20T22:53:09Z</published>
    <content type="text">We received the same form today, it was just we already filed with the Secretary of State last month and so we were wondering if this is a different one so we contacted our accountant and it's good that he has the information that it was a scam.  How come the authorities and not doing anything about this when they have the address of whose behind this?</content>
    <dc:creator>cbu</dc:creator>
    <dc:date>2009-10-20T22:53:09Z</dc:date>
  </entry>
  <entry>
    <title type="text">By: kronis</title>
    <link rel="alternate" href="http://www.sacramentopress.com/comment/15458/Great_Article_there_are_several_companies_that_do_over_the_counter_filings_at_the_Secretary_of_Stat" />
    <author>
      <name>kronis</name>
    </author>
    <id>comment-15458</id>
    <updated>2009-10-13T16:34:22Z</updated>
    <published>2009-10-13T16:34:22Z</published>
    <content type="text">Great Article, there are several companies that do over the counter filings at the Secretary of States Office, however, they do not solicit clients with deceptive advertising. One such company is www.getitfiled.com , they are very efficient and their service is reasonably priced.</content>
    <dc:creator>kronis</dc:creator>
    <dc:date>2009-10-13T16:34:22Z</dc:date>
  </entry>
  <entry>
    <title type="text">By: Casey Kirk</title>
    <link rel="alternate" href="http://www.sacramentopress.com/comment/15064/This_story_reminds_me_of_the_Call_3_segments_on_the_nightly_news_Great_and_thorough_investigation_A" />
    <author>
      <name>Casey Kirk</name>
    </author>
    <id>comment-15064</id>
    <updated>2009-10-07T20:29:33Z</updated>
    <published>2009-10-07T20:29:33Z</published>
    <content type="text">This story reminds me of the Call 3 segments on the nightly news.  Great and thorough investigation, Ann! Hopefully you saved a few people from being scammed.</content>
    <dc:creator>Casey Kirk</dc:creator>
    <dc:date>2009-10-07T20:29:33Z</dc:date>
  </entry>
  <entry>
    <title type="text">By: Steven Maviglio</title>
    <link rel="alternate" href="http://www.sacramentopress.com/comment/15047/Thanks_for_this_article_I_recently_received_the_same_solicitation_after_filing_LLC_forms_It_is_tota" />
    <author>
      <name>Steven Maviglio</name>
    </author>
    <id>comment-15047</id>
    <updated>2009-10-07T04:58:00Z</updated>
    <published>2009-10-07T04:58:00Z</published>
    <content type="text">Thanks for this article. I recently received the same solicitation after filing LLC forms. It is totally deceptive -- and there are several other companies doing the exact same thing. 

You should also complain to the Attorney General's office by filling out this form: http://ag.ca.gov/contact/complaint_form.php?cmplt=CL.

Hopefully Jerry Brown will get on their tail.</content>
    <dc:creator>Steven Maviglio</dc:creator>
    <dc:date>2009-10-07T04:58:00Z</dc:date>
  </entry>
</feed>


